True Guarnieri Ayer, LLP
Call For A Free Consultation
502-783-7662

This Is An Advertisement

What is a DUI look-back period?

Most people know that a second DUI can only multiply both the criminal and personal consequences individuals face after a first DUI offense. After all, the penalties individuals face often depend on whether or not they have prior DUIs.

However, a prior DUI might not always count as a first offense, depending on the length of the state's look-back period.

How does a look-back period work?

A look-back period determines how long a DUI charge and conviction remain on an individual’s driving record. Even though the criminal charges remain on an individual’s criminal record, there are quite a few benefits to a look-back period, including:

  • After the look-back period has passed, the first DUI offense on an individual’s driving record would not count as their first offense;
  • Therefore, if an individual faces a DUI charge after the look-back period has passed, this charge will be considered a first offense; and
  • This only allows prosecutors and judges to consider offenses that occurred within the look-back period when determining whether an individual is, in fact, facing a second DUI charge.

Look-back periods vary significantly by state. For example, some states like Texas and Florida have lifetime look-back periods. Kentucky’s look-back period does not last an individual’s lifetime, but lawmakers did significantly extend the period in the last few years.

Kentucky’s look-back period doubled in 2016

In 2016, Kentucky’s look-back period changed when then Gov. Matt Bevin signed Senate Bill 56 into law. This law doubled the look-back period for DUIs, extending it from five years to ten years. It also allows the state to apply the ten-year look-back period retroactively.

This extension could cause a ten-year-old DUI from 2010 to create a significant issue for individuals charged with a DUI even now in 2020, potentially leading to the the enhanced penalties of a second DUI offense, which could include:

  • One year attending alcohol abuse treatment;
  • 12 to 18 months with a suspended driver’s license;
  • Paying fines between $300 and $500;
  • Serving anywhere from seven days to six months of jail time; and
  • Using an ignition interlock device for six months after license suspension.

This extended look-back period can significantly increase the penalties that individuals charged with a DUI could face, and they must be aware of this increased risk when fighting DUI charges.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
  • Rated by Super Lawyers | J. Guthrie True | SuperLawyers.com
  • Rated by Super Lawyers | Rising Stars | Whitney True Lawson | SuperLawyers.com
  • Rated by Super Lawyers | Rising Stars |  Philip Lawson | SuperLawyers.com
  • Distinguished AV | LexisNexis | Martindale-Hubbell | Peer Review Rated | For Ethical Standards and Legal Ability
  • American College of Trial Lawyers
  • Kentucky Bar Association | 1871
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • American Board of Criminal Lawyers
  • Listed in Best Lawyers | The World's Premier Guide
  • Super Lawyers
Email Us For A Response

Ask Us Your Questions

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

To learn more about working with us, call 502-783-7662 for a free consultation today.

Office Location:

True Guarnieri Ayer, LLP
124 Clinton St
Frankfort, KY 40601

Phone: 502-783-7662
Fax: 502-605-9901
Frankfort Law Office Map

Office Number: