Deep Experience.
Deep Commitment To Our Clients.

What happens after DUI conviction in Kentucky?

Picture this: you are driving home from drinks with a friend, and suddenly you see the police behind you, pulling you over for suspicion of driving under the influence. The police find that you are intoxicated beyond the legal limit and you are arrested. Now you are facing a DUI conviction. A DUI conviction can be daunting for anyone, but you may be more concerned about what happens after the authorities convict you.

Kentucky takes driving under the influence very seriously, as do most states. For this reason, the punishment for a DUI conviction can be pretty severe, especially if this is not your first offense. For the purposes of this post, we will look at the consequences you will face for a first offense DUI.

Penalty for a first-offense DUI

  1. Arrest: If police determine that your BAC is higher than .08, police will arrest you and likely take you to jail. Most states require even first-time offenders to stay one to two days in jail.
  2. License suspension: Depending on the severity of your case, the state can suspend your license anywhere from 30 to 120 days.
  3. Pay a fine: There will also be a monetary payment, which can range anywhere from 200 dollars to 400 dollars.
  4. Class: Kentucky requires first-time DUI offenders to complete an alcohol abuse treatment course, which typically last 90 days.
  5. Community service: Kentucky law requires you to complete community service. The number of hours you complete depends on the severity of your case but can range from 48 hours to 30 days.

There are other factors that can raise the punishment for your DUI, including having a child with you (under 12), refusing the chemical testing, or excessive speeding. Each case is unique.